You Know What- *&^% the Mets, and Their Fans


11755149_10152961733227536_5157844400210975462_n

I’m a Philadelphia Phillies fan. Between 2006 and 2009, I hated Jose Reyes and the New York Mets with a passion. That’s a long time ago though. Time has passed. I spend a lot of time in New York City, working and otherwise these days. I love the people and the sports fans. It’s a passionate city, filled with knowledgeable fans. I’ve become much more objective about them, their teams, and how they feel about their teams over the years.

Not any more.

Yes, Chase Utley’s slide into second base during the 7th inning of game two of the NLDS was dirty. It didn’t intend to be safe, reach the base, or do anything productive. I feel terrible for Ruben Tejada that his leg is broken. No, really. What Utley did showed no regard for Tejada in the play. He meant to break up the double play at all costs. He did just that. It is what it is. If the Mets put a fastball into his backside or ribs, so be it. That’s baseball to me. None of this makes me hate Chase Utley, nor does it make me think a rule should be changed.

Mets fans can’t take “yes” for an answer though. I’ve said a few times that Utley’s play was dirty. It was. I’m not going to defend it, even if I think the slide was totally legal. It was a bad moment. Mets fans will argue “yes” with you though. They’ll tell you that you need to agree that it was illegal. You have to agree that David Wright wasn’t a douchebag his whole career. Even though he is a douchebag. Yes, a real douche. I’m not going to bother going on ripping Wright. He’s that guy we Phillies fans call “choker.” The whole episode is reminding me of reality. As I read their ridiculously funny tweets about me drinking bleach, liking Papelbon (what?), and taking something from Ryan Howard in my backside- because homophobia and racism mixed together are awesome- it all came back to me.

I’m not going to feel an ounce of sympathy for the New York Mets baseball team or their fans though. I’ll be clear, I hope they lose. I don’t feel bad for their misfortune as a group, their fans’ pathetic whining, or anything else associated with them. I view the play in question objectively, but I’m not rooting for them over it. I hope David Wright never sees a World Series game. None of that is meant as personal at an individual though- I have lots of friends who love the Mets. It’s meant as someone who loves their arch-nemesis. This is how sports work.

If you’re not a Mets fan, stop complaining about Tejada. You can feel bad for him, but let’s not take it too far. Yes, Utley took him out before. The Mets also hit him 13 times before.  I wish the Phillies returned the favor to Wright a few times, maybe he wouldn’t hit balls off our scoreboard then. The same dirty Mets have thrown at Cameron Rupp, quick pitched, and just generally been a bunch of douchebags. Matt Harvey hit Utley after a couple of home runs off of his overrated right arm (I mean, Utley isn’t hitting many homers these days) and caused a brawl in the season’s early months. If Ruben Tejada had not tried a spin throw, he’d be playing now. Sure, the hit was dirty as hell, but let’s not act like Utley was out to break his leg. In Philadelphia, Utley is revered for playing to win every game, every inning, every year. When I hear David Wright whine about “the players” that Utley has hurt, frankly it reinforces my view of him as soft. Yeah, Utley returned the favor to the Mets for all those bean balls. Put on your big boy pants and deal with it.

Today is the first post-season game in Queens since 2006- it’s been a while. A lot of long-suffering Mets fans will be there to cheer their team on, and I’m sure they’ll amp up the atmosphere to level eleven for the game. I hope they enjoy it. I also do hope they lose, as they would the Phillies. That’s cool by me. While I’ve grown to appreciate New York sports, I realize that I hate them, all of their teams. And you know what? That’s fine. Hopefully Chase Utley hits one off the Pepsi sign (if his suspension is lifted), and Matt Harvey and his agent can cry a little more about innings counts. If none of that happens, it’s fine too. This is the Mets moment to shine, and the rest of us have to deal with it. Phillies fans hate the Mets more than we let on when we were good, and their fans don’t hide it. So, let’s just embrace it.

The Phillies aren’t playing today. They have no playoffs. Chase Utley and Jimmy Rollins are on another team. Frankly, I don’t know why I care. Go Dodgers, I guess, because it’s the Mets, the playoffs, and October. Enjoy the entertainment.

Leave a Reply

