40 Games Later- the Highlights


11391765_10152898710122536_5733987975947378437_n

On the final day of the season, I attended my 40th and final professional baseball game of 2015. I can only look ahead to 2016 now, when hopefully my Phillies will not be a 99 loss team. While this was the worst ball club I watched in my lifetime, in terms of record, I feel better about the direction of my favorite team at this point than I did a year ago at this time. They traded away veterans in the past year, grabbed young talents anywhere they could, and now have a skeleton of a future plan.

On the season, I attended 20 Phillies games (home and away), including 18 home games, 19 IronPigs home games, and a Yankees-Nats game amongst two NYC baseball trips. In the 20 Phillies games, despite a 63-99 season, I saw the Phillies go 10-10. I had some real highlights this season, and saw some really great stuff. Here’s some of the highlights of the season.

  1. I finally added PNC Park in Pittsburgh to my list of stadiums I’ve been to. The Pirates beat the Phillies 1-0 that day.
  2. I saw Aaron Nola’s MLB debut in Philadelphia. That was a lot of fun.
  3. I saw Maikel Franco take C.C. Sabathia yard in a win at Yankees Stadium.
  4. Pat Burrell went into the Wall-of-Fame, and I was there.
  5. I was there for the last game Chase Utley played in as a Philadelphia Phillies player. He grounded out to end it.
  6. I saw Nola’s AAA debut at Coca-Cola Park in Allentown.
  7. I saw Jerad Eickhoff’s only AAA home start for the IronPigs before he became a Phillies regular.
  8. I got a baseball in both Philadelphia and Lehigh Valley this season after about a decade hiatus from getting a foul ball.
  9. Jonathan Papelbon’s team record save against the Pittsburgh Pirates was probably the most exciting game I saw this year, with Jeff Francoeur throwing out the tying run at the plate to end the game.
  10. Jimmy Rollins came home to Philadelphia for a series, and I went to the finale against Greinke. It’s always neat to see someone that good.
  11. I won’t stop at ten, because yesterday’s Fan Appreciation Day was my first in many years. It’s sad to see the season end, but it was a kind of cool feeling to be there for the last game of the year.

I’ll miss baseball all the way until Spring Training opens in February. I’m excited for the improvement this team is sure to make.

Leave a Reply

