DC is Terrible, Reason 4,563- Traffic


528742_10151168953617536_2082217701_n

I spent a little time living in Washington, D.C. when I was younger, and I didn’t like it. It’s way too stuffy for me, and actually kind of boring. One other thing I hated was the traffic there when I did need to drive. The traffic is terrible. The Beltway is no treat on it’s own, but it’s even worse when you put DC area drivers on it. It’s like a collection of all of the worst drivers from different places getting dropped in together in one place. They all bring their bad habits to one place, and create chaos on the road.

I’m not the only one hating on DC driving now though. Texas A&M is joining in:

Washington, D.C. tops all U.S. cities as the worst place for traffic congestion, according to a studyreleased Wednesday by the Texas A&M Transportation Institute and data company Inrix.

Those traveling within the nation’s capital experienced around 82 hours of delay per commuter as of last year, nearly double the national average. Other cities at the top of the list include Los Angeles (80 hours), San Francisco (78 hours), New York (74 hours), and San Jose (67 hours), according to the 2015 Urban Mobility Scorecard.

I have to admit I have trouble believing New York is on this list. I have a much worse time in Philadelphia, if only because the Schuylkill is awful. The rest is very believable though, and DC is where it belongs on top.

Leave a Reply

