Jon Stewart Says Goodbye


TDS_TwitterProfile_sq

I was not always a Jon Stewart fan. I was born on the very front-end of the millennial generation, and I grew up getting my news from more “traditional” outlets. For a while, I saw Stewart as mocking serious business, issues of war and peace, poverty and wealth, and progress and stagnation. I didn’t really watch him or Stephen Colbert for a long time as a result.

Then I started watching them more, and liking them. Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert were the funniest thing on television. They made the news interesting, and they made sarcasm serious. Stewart built a brand on Comedy Central, and he made the careers of some of today’s funniest comics. He revolutionized how many viewed the world, because frankly he satirized things that needed it. He didn’t cover the ridiculous as serious, and was willing to call something ridiculous that actually was ridiculous. The parsing of politics wasn’t something he treated as legitimate, like the real media, and frankly that won me over. Stewart talked about serious things in a way that they should be discussed.

I really enjoyed his finale, if for no other reason than it seemed like a fitting tribute. His past “correspondents” all came back, some of his past topics were touched on fittingly. It ended with Bruce Springsteen rocking out. In many ways, it was more Letterman’s finale than Colbert’s, which was kind of surprising, but I think more fitting. Jon Stewart changed comedy and news. He went out with a fitting tribute that left me thinking we’ll all miss his style moving forward.

Leave a Reply

